White teacher bullied by black students in Baltimore

Appalling video captures substitute teacher bullied by students who heckle and flick her face

By Nina Golgowski

PUBLISHED: 21:18 GMT, 8 November 2012 | UPDATED: 22:18 GMT, 8 November 2012

A shocking video capturing a high school teacher mercilessly bullied by her own students has been revealed showing her flicked in the face while the rest of the class roars with laughter.

Standing before the applauding laughter of her students, the substitute teacher in Baltimore, Maryland appears half the size of two girls who approach her while throwing items and flicking her face.

Taken two weeks ago from what appears to be a cell phone camera, Baltimore City Schools has confirmed the school to be Digital Harbor High, a magnet school in Federal Hill.

Scroll down for video

Abused: Captured on camera this substitute teacher in seen heckled by her students while two students throw items at her and this girl, right, flicks her face
Abused: Captured on camera this substitute teacher in seen heckled by her students while two students throw items at her and this girl, right, flicks her face

Abused: Captured on camera this substitute teacher in seen taunted by her students while two girls throw items at her and this girl, right, flicks her face

Despite muffled audio, the unidentified teacher can be heard threatening the students with suspension after asking them to stop.

One student says ‘shut up, b***h,’ to the laughter of the class.

‘I think it happens every day,’ Marietta English, the head of Baltimore’s teachers union reacted to the video to ABC2.

‘We ask teachers to file a complaint with us. Fill out the forms so we can keep our own records, but we just believe it happens every day and in some schools, somewhere,’ she said.

Scene: The teacher was a substitute at Digital Harbor High School, a magnet school in Baltamore, Maryland when the bullying occurred last weekScene: The teacher was a substitute at Digital Harbor High School, a magnet school in Baltamore, Maryland when the bullying occurred last week

Relief: Karen Klein, a former bus monitor in New York, has since retired after a video of her obscenely bullied by students led to donations of over $600,000Relief: Karen Klein, a former bus monitor in New York, has since retired after a video of her obscenely bullied by students led to donations of over $600,000

In this teacher’s case she did not file a police report as Ms English recommends, but did report it to her school’s administration.

Since the video’s upload to YouTube on October 22, the same day it was filmed, Baltimore City Schools says one student has been disciplined.

The method of discipline used was not revealed.

The attack comes just weeks after a 220lb, former college football player turned New York inner city teacher, John Webster, accused a 6-year-old boy of beating him up.

Describing the boy to the New York Post as a ‘tiny terror’ who ‘looks like an angel but then all of a sudden, that halo turns into horns’ he accused the boy of putting his legs in braces.

Before that the world opened up to Karen Klein, a bullied upstate New York school bus monitor who in June was pressed to tears over students’ shockingly obscene jeers.

A donation site set up for her by sympathisers rose to over $600,000 for the grandmother.

While using some of the money to retire, she also set up an anti-bully foundation with the help of donations from more than 30,000 people worldwide.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2230130/Digital-Harbor-High-Baltimore-substitute-teacher-bullied-students-caught-camera.html#ixzz2BlvaUZbE

This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to White teacher bullied by black students in Baltimore

  1. Robin Thomas says:

    I’m a sub, and the blacks and browns abuse me all the time. Ironically, the lying SPLC has an article claiming just the opposite, that white teachers “bully” the black and brown students! It’s ludicrous. There is no way that a white teacher is going to be able to bully a classroom of 40 non-whites. The truth is that the white person who works in a non-white environment can expect some very bad treatment. I’m not saying that ALL of the non-white students will be disrespectful, but in a class of 40, you can expect that at least a half dozen of the students will be filled with anti-white hate and will take it out on the teacher.

  2. Vision says:

    Indeed, As a substitute in a black school , I bear witness to bullying of white and foreign teachers by black kids. They disrespect them most of all even if they are kind to them., I am black myself and I am so ashamed of this ignorance and lack of civility of my race.

  3. Fair enough says:

    They threw crayons, threatened , cursed and made fun of my church mate who was a minority teacher in a purely black school. A student kicked her on the leg when she asked to surrender his cellphone as not to be used loudly in class. Another hit her on the back of her head. Somebody put a note ” bitch ” on her back and three others stole her cellphone and money from her purse. They mocked and ridiculed her most of the time. The admiinistrators clearly sided with the kids and even reprimanded the teacher not gettingt to connect with them., :Eventually my friend transferred to a private school where she was respected and won a best teacher award. In the previous school, she was blamed with poor classroom management. I worry about the twisted value systems of the administrators and the future of American educational system seriously!

  4. nmjones says:

    Do you know if you are white and bullied by someone of color IN A WORKPLACE you have NO legal recourse against them under current federal EEO laws? There are also no workplace bullying laws to protect you, at least not in my state, so these EEO laws are all you have to go on. I am a white female who was bullied and forced out of her job at an east coast community college library by a group of black students/former students, who were all related. It was a mother and her children who attended this college over several years. The mother learned to take out her racial hatred on whites by getting involved in ‘good’ organizations so she could do her damage from the inside out. I believe these organizations are aware of her alterior motive. She actually taught her children how to bully by giving them pointers as they did this (she was the lead bully). These bullies targeted me over a period of several years because I stood up for myself when she and her sons’ first bullied me. When her daughter did it a few years later, and I stood up for myself again (as everyone told me to do) and I complained to my boss and had them removed from my work area because they were intimidating me on the job these bullies called the college officials and complained against me. I went to my boss, HR and the college officials for help. These ‘college officals’ (HR, the vice president, campus security, EEO, my boss etc.) then waged a campaign against me, even though I was the victim. They actually told me that they did not want to have an issue with me “profiling” students and a lawsuit from these bullies against them. (You see I later realized they were trying to increase the college population and were targeting minorities because most minorities qualify for guaranteed federal/state dollars for education). The HR and EEO proceeded to make my work life a living hell, taking anything I did or said on the job and turning it against me, including using my terrified and vendictful fellow library employees also. HR and EEO had campus security spy and try to frighten me, asking me leading questions, etc. EEO and HR brought me in weekly to harrass me at meetings after they claim that I was the problem, not the bullies. THEY NEVER FIRED ME because they would have had a wrongful termination suit against them and they knew that (believe me they have lawyers!!). However, I could not take it anymore and resigned after 11 years of service. My health could not take it and with security trying to hurt me I had no REAL protection against my bullies if they wanted to do something to me. I am depressed, broke and destroyed with no where to turn. Is this right, fair? No but it is lawful. I am not a racist and never have been, but two wrongs DO NOT MAKE A RIGHT. Hurting me helped this bully and others feel vindicated somehow? No one should have to suffer what I suffered and have no legal recourse for it.

  5. jay says:

    They won’t even hint at the racist factor here. Its amazing that we are going to continue to turn a blind eye to this. If these were white kids and a black teacher holly dang watch out for the media blitz cause it would steamroller ur asz

Leave a Reply

